And now, THE GIVEAWAY

*doot doodoodoo doot doot doot doooooooooooo*

And ain't she a beauty?

And ain’t she a beauty?

As promised. I wouldn’t let you down.

The Prize: Two (2) randomly-chosen people will each receive one (1) hardcover copy of The Last Love of George Sand, by Evelyne Bloch-Dano, translated by yours truly, published by Arcade Publishing, released February 6, 2013. Each book will be signed by me and inscribed however you’d like.

The Entry(-ies): There are two ways of entering, each of which grants you one entry (so every person can enter up to twice).

  1. In honor of George Sand, leave a comment on this post of who your favorite strong woman is. Bonus brownie points for explaining why.
  2. To help spread the word, tweet a link to this post. Must either tweet at me (@sunshineabroad) or include this hashtag: #GeorgeSandGiveaway

The Deadline: Tonight! Wednesday, February 6, 2013, at 11:59 p.m. EST.

The Rules: After the contest, I will randomly select two entrants (by assigning a number to each comment and Twitter account and using a random number generator), and announce the winners on this blog on Thursday, February 7. I will then contact the winners for their mailing address. Anyone with a valid mailing address anywhere in the world may enter. Limit two entries per person.

The Why: George Sand is freaking cool. And I loved working on this book. I’d like to share it with people.

Good luck to all!

20 thoughts on “And now, THE GIVEAWAY

  1. I have many favorite strong women, but I’m currently digging Eleanor of Aquitaine (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eleanor_of_Aquitaine). Probably best known to England and to American fans of Robin Hood as the mother of Richard the Lionheart and John I, she had an amazing life. She was the center of power in France and England at various times during her life, held her property and stood up for her rights in a time when women were viewed as property themselves, and was generally bad-ass.

  2. My go-to fave is Lucille Ball for her contributions as a woman to the film and television industries. Also, this quotation: “Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead.” :)

    So proud of you! xoxo

  3. Lucy Stone. American feminist, all around BAMF, who for reasons I’ve never understood just doesn’t have the name recognition of Susan B. Anthony or Elizabeth Cady Stanton. And she liked translations too–”When the Bible was quoted to her, defending the subordinate position of women to men, Stone declared that when she grew up, she’d learn Greek and Hebrew so she could correct the mistranslation that she was confident lay behind such verses.” :)

  4. I fell in love with Georges Sand in 1975-6 during the PBS series, “Notorious Woman” (with Rosemary Harris as Georges Sand, Jeremy Irons as de Musset and George Chakaris as Chopin). Then I read her biography and my feminist appetite sought out other biographies of “strong women” – mainly French: Colette, Simone de Beauvoir, Sarah Bernhardt, and the Impressionist artists. But Georges Sand remains my absolute favorite and I can’t wait to read the latest biography. Thank you so much for translating “Last Love” by Evelyne Bloch-Dano. Twitter account #bethnewyork

  5. How can one *not* love Georges Sand–brilliant, creative, and a star, even when surrounded by so many famous people?

    One of my favorite strong women is a poet whom I have translated, the Japanese feminist writer Hiromi Ito, who shocked and scandalized the literary world in the 1970s and 1980s with her intensely personal and dramatic evocations of pregnancy, abortion, and women’s sexual desire. As part of her personal journey, she left Japan, and now lives outside of San Diego, but continues to write in Japanese.

  6. I think it is great work. I can imagine how difficult to translate such books… I always appreciated women with strong character, but the same time passionate and able for reckless love. How i just have said for me the ideal of woman is Scarlett O’Hara. Love her for her beauty, firmness, courage. She is a bit naive, makes a lot of mistakes… but i love it too.

  7. Queen Elizabeth I is one of my favorites. An extraordinary mixture of intelligence and superb political/diplomatic skills, able to successfully navigate for 40 years not only international issues but her own misogynistic society, a complicated juggling of egos and power that never ceases to amaze me.

  8. My favorite “strong woman” is Elizabeth Bennet, from “Pride and Prejudice”. She is strong and does her best with the resources she had at hand, gracefully but without giving up.

  9. Congratulations!!!!

    My favorite strong woman has always been my “abuela” – Maria Magdalena Pelayo de Hernández. She dealt with a cheating husband (my “abuelo” who – though I loved him – was a typical Mexican man of his times who cheated on his wife); raised eight children, including a couple of alcoholic sons and a wickedly bipolar daughter (my mother, who was never diagnosed or treated for it during her short lifetime); and nursed some very eccentric (probably insane) sisters and sisters-in-law who lived with her and my abuelo at various times. Abuelita was strong enough to love, try to heal, teach, and be a pillar of strength for all of them and for her hundreds of relatives. She was a delightfully funny, extremely intelligent, and wonderfully patient, loving and forgiving woman.

  10. And I shall go with a very Jeff answer: Jane Jacobs, one of the most influential urbanists in the history of urban design and planning. New York City, and many other cities, wouldn’t be the same if not for her theory and writings on how build on a neighborhood- and people-centric level.

  11. Félicitations, Allison!
    A strong woman I have been admiring lately is Karolina Karlovna Pavlova (née Jaenisch), one of the best nineteenth-century Russian writers. George Sand was tremendously popular in Russia (and her plots were stolen by everyone from Chernyshevsky to Turgenev!), and Pavlova mentions her twice in her 1848 DOUBLE LIFE – once as an author, and once as a signifier of provocative sexual politics.

  12. I am with Stephanie: I love Marie Curie! I read a biography of her when I was a girl and thought she was the coolest to do all those daring experiments and be such a pioneer in that era, and it was tragic how she died, from her dedication to science (radiation exposure). (Of course, I still think all that… ;)

  13. My favorite strong woman growing up was Amelia Earhart. I thought it was so exciting that she wanted to break records for flying. Though Joan of Arc was always a close second…

  14. Pingback: Things We Saw Today: The Animatronic Dinosaur I Wish I’d Had as a Kid - EyeOnCelebs

  15. Emma Goldman. Feminist and revolutionary. So much so she went and got herself deported. :) Also a huge fan of Hannah Senesh. She was very active during the Holocaust, and was executed by the Nazi’s for her good works in attempting to stop them.

    misusedinnocence@aol.com

What do you think?

